Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

An Interview With… Alice Weston

An Interview With ..., Photography

I have been a big fan of Alice Weston for a little while now. A talented singer/songwriter from South West England who also knows her way around a camera.  She has an ear for soulful, folk like melodies and an eye for natural portraiture.  After listening to her whilst writing one of my previous posts I knew I had to try and interview her.  Whether it’s listening to her sing or looking through her portfolio each note and image fills me with joy and I really wanted to share her talents with you.

Alice Weston Music

Alice Weston | Photo: Alice Weston

Click here to hear Alice Weston’s Oxygen (Listen and read, it’s a perfect accompaniment!)

 

Hi Alice, to start why don’t you tell us a little something about yourself…
Hello. My name is Alice and I am 20 years old from a small town in the South West [of England]. I’m a horse, music, photography and peanut butter fanatic.

What made you decide to start the blog?
I actually originally had the idea for a YouTube channel (aliceonhertravels) and my intentions were to vlog my travels. This will still be going ahead at some point but due to timings and life I decided that I needed to have this little trip (to France) for myself and to rather than have the pressures of uploading everyday keep a blog. When I started my blog, ideas have expanded and there are some exciting things coming soon.

Your blog is entitled Alice On Her Travels, can we expect more travelling from you? Where’s next?
I am currently in a stage of complete ambivalence and I can’t quite decide where to go next. There’s so much choice but there are definitely some places on the cards. I am currently working, saving and planning.

You recently moved to France for six weeks to learn French, what made you decide to go?
I’d always wanted to travel but I’d had a lot of anxieties about leaving home for the first time. Admittedly, just before I left I was going through a horrendous stage of anxiety which was set off by something very silly but during this time I had a realisation that I couldn’t let this stupid thing rule my life. Nor could I keep going in the direction I was, so, within a week I’d organised my six week adventure and it was literally the best decision that I have made in my life. One of my favourite quotes is that: “Everything you want is on the other side of fear” and this is completely true.

How are your French skills now? Can you say something to us?
My French is…better. Tu es tres mignon. Pamplemousse. Je ne parle pas beaucoup Francais mais j’aime bien Montpellier! I’ve probably even got that wrong, as for Pamplemousse, probably the cutest sounding word in the world!

You’re a singer, songwriter and photographer, where do you get your creative inspiration from?
Music has always been a brilliant outlet for me through the good and the bad and the trials of growing up and being a teenager. If I ever need to vent or something has happened there is sure to be a song about it. I’ve never really been very good at writing but lyrically I can write for days.

As for photography, I just find people really intriguing. To me imperfections are what make people really beautiful which is why I am not a big fan of photoshop. I think all these little quirks and charms are just really incredible. I also love the fact that you can sort of capture a person in one photo and you can get so much across from a simple photograph. lt amazes me that these people can’t see their beauty which really inspires me to try and help them see what I see and so many others do. The people I have met are my inspiration without a doubt and with their support my photography has really grown in the past few months.

How long have you been writing your own songs? Did you teach yourself to play guitar?
I’ve been writing my own songs for as long as I can remember, even before I could play an instrument.  And yes, I taught myself guitar — still very much learning and I’ve recently just started teaching myself piano.

Who are your favourite artists?
Favourite artists…my music taste is pretty broad but these are a favourite few: London Grammar, The Lumineers, Birdy, Matt Corby, BOY, Matthew and the atlas…I have many!

I really love your photography.  You mostly shoot equine and portrait photography, are you inspired by anyone in particular?
As for inspiration for photography there are a few Bryant Eslava, Nessa K, Jack Toohey, Sam Hurd and also a photographer called Emily Hancock.  Also Emilie Layla Lovaine, she’s really inspired me through photography and blogging.

Do you have a favourite camera / editing software you like to use?
Canon 60D I have a few different lenses but I mostly shoot on my 50mm for portraits and if I’m doing certain shoots my other favourite is the 55-250mm. I actually only really use VSCO which I just really love.

What can we expect from Alice On Her Travels in the upcoming months?
I’ve got lots of ideas floating around and it’s just dependent on how much I can save in the summer months. There’s a lot of talk of travel destinations currently it’s just picking one that is the issue. Though I will be blogging about music festivals as I’ve been lucky enough to get press and photography passes which is something I am really ecstatic about! But who knows…just watch this space…

 

Max | Photo: Alice Weston

Max | Photo: Alice Weston

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

Kate | Photo: Alice Weston

Ming Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

Ming | Photo: Alice Weston

This is the first interview I have done for this blog, hopefully the first of many.  What do you think?
If you want to see more of Alice Weston head over to her VSCO portfolio or listen to her gorgeous voice at soundcloud.com/alicewestonmusic.

{This post was written whilst listening to Alice Weston (obviously) and shockingly not eating anything!}

Leave a Reply

