Sweet, summery Sorbetto

Fashion, Sewing

So, this Colette pattern is just a little bit heavenly, isn’t it?  I’ve seen the Sorbetto top floating around the blogosphere for a while and have had it downloaded and stored on my computer for a couple of months, just waiting for the right bit of fabric.  I was lucky enough to get a Ray Stitch voucher from work last week and popped in to get some fabric for a different pattern. Unfortunately they didn’t have quite what I was after but this honey gold floral fabric from the Bee My Honey collection By Mary Jane Butters For Moda Fabrics caught my eye as soon as I walked in to the shop, and I knew it was perfect for the Sorbetto.

(If you haven’t got the pattern yet, you can get it from here. It’s free, and it’s blooming marvellous!)

Me and My Sorbettod | Photo: Laura Peta

Me and my Sorbetto | Photo: Laura Peta

As most of you probably know I have only been sewing for a year. I’ve done a few simple sews, cushion covers, simple skirts and a very simple dress (that’s not overly wearable!!), and although this is a fairly simple pattern it is the first one that I’ve attempted that involves bias binding, darts and a box pleat! With all those added extras I was a little apprehensive to say the least, but it was actually a pretty simple sew.

Darts, pleats and bias binding | Photo: Laura Peta

Darts, pleats and bias binding | Photo: Laura Peta

I have mastered French seams so I decided to give those a go too. It just makes the inside of the top look so much neater. Nothing like giving myself too much work, eh?!

French seams! | Photo: Laura Peta

French seams (and almost straight stitches!) | Photo: Laura Peta

The actual top only took an hour or so to put together, but I was completely thrown by the bias binding. It took me a few attempts, and rather a lot of stitch unpicking, especially on the arm holes, but it eventually came together pretty well.

Bias binding and front pleat | Photo: Laura Peta

Bias binding and box pleat | Photo: Laura Peta

The arm holes are a little wide, I think I may have stretched them when battling with the bias tape! Is it possible to stretch out cotton fabric, or have I just cut out the pattern slightly wrong? I know it’s not perfect, but I’m so please with how my Sorbetto top turned out. It’s the most complex thing I’ve made so far but despite it’s flaws (the darts are a little lop sided, shhh!) it is actually wearable! HOORAH!

I love Sorbetto | Photo: Laura Peta

I love Sorbetto | Photo: Laura Peta

I’m still not used to these outfit posts, I feel ever so self conscious doing them! The chap makes them a bit more fun, but I just don’t feel photogenic enough! HAHA! To counter the embarrassment I tend to just make weird faces, here’s one for you all.

Colette Pattern Sorbetto sewing

Goofing around | Photo: Laura Peta

I’d love to see some of your Sorbetto sews, and if you have any advice for bias binding arm holes it would be gratefully received!

[The Sorbetto top was made whilst listening to Hall and Oates and eating chocolate ice cream]

9 thoughts on “Sweet, summery Sorbetto

  1. Gorgeous! I’ve been meaning to sew a Sorbetto, too – after seeing yours, it might have to move to the front of my pattern queue! 🙂

    1. Thank you! I hope it has jumped to the front of your queue. It’s such a beautiful pattern, and really quick to sew too. You can do it in an afternoon and it’ll be like it never queue jumped!! 🙂

    1. Thank you! I will definitely be making more of them. I love the blue sheer fabric you used for one of your Sorbettos. It’s such a perfect pattern, isn’t it?! 🙂

  2. It’s lovely! You can definitely stretch cotton fabrics out, especially the parts that are cut in a curve. That’s why the Sorbetto pattern instructions have you staystitch the neckline. I suppose you could do the same to the armholes if you are worried they’ll stretch out again. I have written a tutorial on my blog on how you can fit bias tape to necklines and armholes, perhaps you’ll find that useful.

    1. Thank you! I definitely think I’ve stretch the armholes a little. OOOOPS! I’ll definitely be making this pattern again so I will follow your tutorial and see how it turns out. Thank you so much for that. 🙂

Leave a Reply

