Ok ok, I know it’s not January any more but I jumped on the Glossybox bandwagon rather late and only got my January box last week!

So January was the month I finally took the plunge and ordered my very first Glossybox!  Although I had read a few reviews from bloggers who were really dissatisfied with this months box, I liked the ‘back to basics’ theme of the products (especially after a rather luxurious Christmas!) and thought it was a gentle but much needed introduction to the Glossybox world.  Despite some rather negative comments on January’s box I am absolutely thrilled with mine, whether that’s because it was too giddy about losing my Glossybox  virginity or not, who can say.

Anatomicals: Puffy The Eye Bag Slayer, Yu-Be: Moisturising Skin Cream, Beauty UK: CC Cream, The Vintage Cosmetics Company: Floral Tweezers, Balance Me: Super Toning Body Wash

Anatomicals: Puffy The Eye Bag Slayer, Yu-Be: Moisturising Skin Cream, Beauty UK: CC Cream, The Vintage Cosmetics Company: Floral Tweezers, Balance Me: Super Toning Body Wash

Yu-Be: Moisturising Skin Cream
Part of the reason I subscribed to Glossybox was to find products that I otherwise wouldn’t have stumbled across.  Products that would enhance my life and I wouldn’t even realise.  All hail Yu-Be and their Moisturising Skin Cream, finally a moisturiser that keeps winter skin smooth and hydrated.  If you’re anything like me winter is a season of chapped hands, dry lips and all round parched skin.  I’ve tried all kinds of hand cream and moisturisers and either they work for a very limited time, or they leave my skin feeling horridly greasy.  Yu-Be’s Moisturising Skin Cream does neither of these; although it has a rather strong aroma the smell doesn’t hang around on your skin, it absorbs beautifully and keeps skin, especially my horrifically dry hands, delightfully soft.  I absolutely love this product and I expect I will be buying more of it shortly.  (available at www.onestopbeauty.co.uk – rrp £13.50 for 33g)
Balance Me: Super Toning Body Wash
“With a blend of juniper, bergamot, geranium and lavender essential oils…”  ENOUGH SAID.  oooo, this smells absolutely divine.  Always a fan of toning products, but always a bit dubious as to whether or not they actually work.  The sample sized bottle of this body wash is definitely too small to tell if the bod is getting a little more toned, but what I can tell you for a fact is that the smell of this body wash in the shower makes me want to jump for joy (unusual for early morning starts!).  What I really love about this brand, and what will make me purchase from them in the future, is that they believe in the use of natural ingredients, there are no hidden nasties in any of their products, which are all “lovingly created in the UK”.  A natural and homespun company, what’s not to love?  (Available from www.balanceme.co.uk – rrp £10.25 for 250ml)

Beauty UK: CC Cream
I haven’t used a CC Cream before so I wasn’t sure what to expect.  I regularly use a BB cream and often apply a thin layer before my foundation (and occasionally if my skin is looking fresh for some miraculous reason I’ll wear it more as a tinted moisturiser) so I was expecting this to be fairly similar.  It’s very liquidy which made trying to get a small amount to use as a base tricky (a grape sized amount rather than the recommended pea size!) and although once it was all applied it sat well on my skin as soon as I applied my foundation they didn’t seem to want to blend.  It did all settle after a few minutes but where as my foundation I use daily never comes off on my clothes I found having the CC Cream base left little orange marks were anything to touch my face – not ideal when out on a shopping trip…  Having said all this, it does feel quite light on the skin and claims to hydrate the skin as well as providing SPF 30 for protection against UV rays so I would probably wear it on it’s own as more of a tinted moisturiser.  (Available from www.beautyukcosmetics.com – rrp £4.99 for 25ml)

Anatomicals: Puffy the Eye Bag Slayer. (aka two little miracle slices)
At least that’s what they should be called!! As a hayfever sufferer prone to watery eyes one day and dry eyes the next I am no stranger to the dark puffy bag look.  I have always been a little hesitant on what to use on my eyes, partly because there are so many products out there now, and partly because the skin under the eyes is rather thin and it freaks me out a little bit! So I was delighted when I opened my Glossybox to find a solution to my problem, and a solution with a rather amusing pun – that won me over instantly.   They have a strange texture but when put under the eyes they feel absolutely amazing. They’re soft, cool, and very soothing, perfect for an early start to the day (or a late night before!) I have absolutely loved this product and will definitely be purchasing more of them. (Available from www.asos.com  £6.00 for a pack of 3)

The Vintage Cosmetic Company: Floral Tweezers
What is not to love about these little beauties. A spare set of tweezers is always handy, I’m forever leaving mine at a variety of places, and as we all know I’m partial to a splash of ditsy print. Dream tweezers? I think so! (Available from www.thevintagecosmeticcompany.co.uk rrp £8.00)

Overall my first Glossybox experience was brilliant.  Did you agree with some of the negative opinions or did you enjoy January’s Glossybox?  I can’t wait for the next one to arrive – bring on my Glossy addiction.

Beauty, Fashion

3 thoughts on “Glossybox – January 2014: ‘Back to Basics’

  1. Loved the Anatomicals eye patches, just reviewed them on my blog. I wish I had received the Beauty UK CC cream, looks interesting. I’ve never tried one either!

      1. I had a Vaseline moisturiser, I wanted to try it but I would have rather tried the CC cream haha

Leave a Reply

Ok ok, I know it’s not January any more but I jumped on the Glossybox bandwagon rather late and only got my January box last week!

So January was the month I finally took the plunge and ordered my very first Glossybox!  Although I had read a few reviews from bloggers who were really dissatisfied with this months box, I liked the ‘back to basics’ theme of the products (especially after a rather luxurious Christmas!) and thought it was a gentle but much needed introduction to the Glossybox world.  Despite some rather negative comments on January’s box I am absolutely thrilled with mine, whether that’s because it was too giddy about losing my Glossybox  virginity or not, who can say.

Anatomicals: Puffy The Eye Bag Slayer, Yu-Be: Moisturising Skin Cream, Beauty UK: CC Cream, The Vintage Cosmetics Company: Floral Tweezers, Balance Me: Super Toning Body Wash

Anatomicals: Puffy The Eye Bag Slayer, Yu-Be: Moisturising Skin Cream, Beauty UK: CC Cream, The Vintage Cosmetics Company: Floral Tweezers, Balance Me: Super Toning Body Wash

Yu-Be: Moisturising Skin Cream
Part of the reason I subscribed to Glossybox was to find products that I otherwise wouldn’t have stumbled across.  Products that would enhance my life and I wouldn’t even realise.  All hail Yu-Be and their Moisturising Skin Cream, finally a moisturiser that keeps winter skin smooth and hydrated.  If you’re anything like me winter is a season of chapped hands, dry lips and all round parched skin.  I’ve tried all kinds of hand cream and moisturisers and either they work for a very limited time, or they leave my skin feeling horridly greasy.  Yu-Be’s Moisturising Skin Cream does neither of these; although it has a rather strong aroma the smell doesn’t hang around on your skin, it absorbs beautifully and keeps skin, especially my horrifically dry hands, delightfully soft.  I absolutely love this product and I expect I will be buying more of it shortly.  (available at www.onestopbeauty.co.uk – rrp £13.50 for 33g)
Balance Me: Super Toning Body Wash
“With a blend of juniper, bergamot, geranium and lavender essential oils…”  ENOUGH SAID.  oooo, this smells absolutely divine.  Always a fan of toning products, but always a bit dubious as to whether or not they actually work.  The sample sized bottle of this body wash is definitely too small to tell if the bod is getting a little more toned, but what I can tell you for a fact is that the smell of this body wash in the shower makes me want to jump for joy (unusual for early morning starts!).  What I really love about this brand, and what will make me purchase from them in the future, is that they believe in the use of natural ingredients, there are no hidden nasties in any of their products, which are all “lovingly created in the UK”.  A natural and homespun company, what’s not to love?  (Available from www.balanceme.co.uk – rrp £10.25 for 250ml)

Beauty UK: CC Cream
I haven’t used a CC Cream before so I wasn’t sure what to expect.  I regularly use a BB cream and often apply a thin layer before my foundation (and occasionally if my skin is looking fresh for some miraculous reason I’ll wear it more as a tinted moisturiser) so I was expecting this to be fairly similar.  It’s very liquidy which made trying to get a small amount to use as a base tricky (a grape sized amount rather than the recommended pea size!) and although once it was all applied it sat well on my skin as soon as I applied my foundation they didn’t seem to want to blend.  It did all settle after a few minutes but where as my foundation I use daily never comes off on my clothes I found having the CC Cream base left little orange marks were anything to touch my face – not ideal when out on a shopping trip…  Having said all this, it does feel quite light on the skin and claims to hydrate the skin as well as providing SPF 30 for protection against UV rays so I would probably wear it on it’s own as more of a tinted moisturiser.  (Available from www.beautyukcosmetics.com – rrp £4.99 for 25ml)

Anatomicals: Puffy the Eye Bag Slayer. (aka two little miracle slices)
At least that’s what they should be called!! As a hayfever sufferer prone to watery eyes one day and dry eyes the next I am no stranger to the dark puffy bag look.  I have always been a little hesitant on what to use on my eyes, partly because there are so many products out there now, and partly because the skin under the eyes is rather thin and it freaks me out a little bit! So I was delighted when I opened my Glossybox to find a solution to my problem, and a solution with a rather amusing pun – that won me over instantly.   They have a strange texture but when put under the eyes they feel absolutely amazing. They’re soft, cool, and very soothing, perfect for an early start to the day (or a late night before!) I have absolutely loved this product and will definitely be purchasing more of them. (Available from www.asos.com  £6.00 for a pack of 3)

The Vintage Cosmetic Company: Floral Tweezers
What is not to love about these little beauties. A spare set of tweezers is always handy, I’m forever leaving mine at a variety of places, and as we all know I’m partial to a splash of ditsy print. Dream tweezers? I think so! (Available from www.thevintagecosmeticcompany.co.uk rrp £8.00)

Overall my first Glossybox experience was brilliant.  Did you agree with some of the negative opinions or did you enjoy January’s Glossybox?  I can’t wait for the next one to arrive – bring on my Glossy addiction.

Beauty, Fashion

3 thoughts on “Glossybox – January 2014: ‘Back to Basics’

  1. Loved the Anatomicals eye patches, just reviewed them on my blog. I wish I had received the Beauty UK CC cream, looks interesting. I’ve never tried one either!

      1. I had a Vaseline moisturiser, I wanted to try it but I would have rather tried the CC cream haha

Leave a Reply

