Ankle swingers

Fashion

The term ‘ankle swingers’ has been uttered many times in mockery at peoples’ too short trousers, but now the cropped trouser is taking over and ankle swingers have undergone a fashionable reinvention. On the off chance I find a pair of trousers to fit (child bearing hips and a relatively small waist are not ingredients for easy trouser shopping – disclaimer: I don’t own a single pair of jeans… *tears up*) as a person in need of a 34″ leg, something that isn’t always easy to find, I often plump for a 32″ and actually quite enjoy the little bit of ankle on show.

I have been coveting the cigarette trend for a while now but only recently plucked up the courage to go trouser shopping (it’s a serious issue!). Zara had an amazing range of trousers, and although I do still get the whole tight on the thigh, could-fit-three-of-me-in-the-waist thing going on because they sit slightly higher on the waist they fit better than most trousers I’ve tried. I’m currently teaching myself to sew so I think I might attempt to take them in a bit (I’m sure I’ll post about how successful unsuccessful that endeavour will be!)

Zara floral print trousers

Zara – floral print trousers

I love these so much. I wear them with a simple black tee and they make even the easiest outfit feel just a little bit chic. Words can’t express how much I love them. I did run out at the next opportunity and bought another pair of cropped cigarette pants from Topshop, so maybe actions speak louder than words. They’re not the sort of thing I would normally go for but I had been admiring them from a far, along with the matching jacket which I am yet to pluck up the courage to purchase – I love a good twin set, and decided to go for it. Best decision yet! I love these just as much, and they actually fit a little better around the waist. I’ve taken to wearing these with a plain tee and soft jumper, and I feel like I’m prancing about in my pyjamas, which is a winner in my book!

Topshop Floral jacquard trousers

Topshop -Floral Jacquard Cigarette Trousers

Topshop Pants

Topshop – Floral Jacquard Cigarette Trousers, Clarks – Hotel Chic Slippers

I have been completely bowled over by this trend, and think my next pair may have to be in tartan! Have you taken on the cigarette trend? I’d love to hear see some of your favourites…

Leave a Reply

Ankle swingers

Fashion

The term ‘ankle swingers’ has been uttered many times in mockery at peoples’ too short trousers, but now the cropped trouser is taking over and ankle swingers have undergone a fashionable reinvention. On the off chance I find a pair of trousers to fit (child bearing hips and a relatively small waist are not ingredients for easy trouser shopping – disclaimer: I don’t own a single pair of jeans… *tears up*) as a person in need of a 34″ leg, something that isn’t always easy to find, I often plump for a 32″ and actually quite enjoy the little bit of ankle on show.

I have been coveting the cigarette trend for a while now but only recently plucked up the courage to go trouser shopping (it’s a serious issue!). Zara had an amazing range of trousers, and although I do still get the whole tight on the thigh, could-fit-three-of-me-in-the-waist thing going on because they sit slightly higher on the waist they fit better than most trousers I’ve tried. I’m currently teaching myself to sew so I think I might attempt to take them in a bit (I’m sure I’ll post about how successful unsuccessful that endeavour will be!)

Zara floral print trousers

Zara – floral print trousers

I love these so much. I wear them with a simple black tee and they make even the easiest outfit feel just a little bit chic. Words can’t express how much I love them. I did run out at the next opportunity and bought another pair of cropped cigarette pants from Topshop, so maybe actions speak louder than words. They’re not the sort of thing I would normally go for but I had been admiring them from a far, along with the matching jacket which I am yet to pluck up the courage to purchase – I love a good twin set, and decided to go for it. Best decision yet! I love these just as much, and they actually fit a little better around the waist. I’ve taken to wearing these with a plain tee and soft jumper, and I feel like I’m prancing about in my pyjamas, which is a winner in my book!

Topshop Floral jacquard trousers

Topshop -Floral Jacquard Cigarette Trousers

Topshop Pants

Topshop – Floral Jacquard Cigarette Trousers, Clarks – Hotel Chic Slippers

I have been completely bowled over by this trend, and think my next pair may have to be in tartan! Have you taken on the cigarette trend? I’d love to hear see some of your favourites…

Leave a Reply

