Photography A Level

Photography

It’s been a year since I finished my Photography A Level (I completed it in one year after finishing uni and moving home) and I realised I haven’t shared any of the images with you. I Have a few images that I have re edited some that I used for my Personal Investigation and my favourite image I took for one of my exam pieces about shade.

I have always been heavily influenced by the 1960s and 70s and found myself being more and more drawn to photographers from that era, or modern photographers who are clearly heavily influenced by that time, Alex Prager for example. So with my love of fashion I decided to use my Personal Investigation to look at how 60s & 70s photography have helped shape modern fashion photography. I wrote about how Film Noir gave a dramatic storylike feel to photography, how the camera angles used in the 60s gave freedom to the subject and paed a visual stereoytype for the decade, and how deep and intense colours of film came to define the 70s. For my images I took all the attributes of these two decades and infused them to create a modern fashion editorial with a vintage feel. Below are just a few of my favourite images I used as part of my assignment.

A2 Photography Personal Investigation Images

One of my favourite images from my Personal Investigation

A2 Personal Investigation

 A2 Photography Personal Investigation Images

 A2 Photography Personal Investigation Images

 A2 Photography Personal Investigation Images

I really enjoyed studying for this A Level, and although I was a ‘mature student’ (at 23!) and doing two years simultaneously I don’t think I would have done it any different. I was studying for that A Level because I genuinely wanted to learn more about photography and not because I had to make up enough A Levels for the year. I stuck with it, I worked hard and embraced all the mini assignments I was faced with. It was great to be taught so many more techniques then told to go and be experimental with each assignment. Flicking developer across my prints and shooting an assignment in a pitch black forest is something I wouldn’t have had the chance to had I not gone back to college. On that nostalgic note I’ll leave you with an image I recreated from my A2 exam on Shade…

A2 Photography Exam

I hope you like my photography, if you have any feedback I’d love to hear it.

2 thoughts on “Photography A Level

  1. Excellent work and it’s wonderful when you get to learn about subjects you enjoy and like to be challenged with. Those photos are a joy to look at, thanks for sharing.

Leave a Reply

Photography A Level

Photography

It’s been a year since I finished my Photography A Level (I completed it in one year after finishing uni and moving home) and I realised I haven’t shared any of the images with you. I Have a few images that I have re edited some that I used for my Personal Investigation and my favourite image I took for one of my exam pieces about shade.

I have always been heavily influenced by the 1960s and 70s and found myself being more and more drawn to photographers from that era, or modern photographers who are clearly heavily influenced by that time, Alex Prager for example. So with my love of fashion I decided to use my Personal Investigation to look at how 60s & 70s photography have helped shape modern fashion photography. I wrote about how Film Noir gave a dramatic storylike feel to photography, how the camera angles used in the 60s gave freedom to the subject and paed a visual stereoytype for the decade, and how deep and intense colours of film came to define the 70s. For my images I took all the attributes of these two decades and infused them to create a modern fashion editorial with a vintage feel. Below are just a few of my favourite images I used as part of my assignment.

A2 Photography Personal Investigation Images

One of my favourite images from my Personal Investigation

A2 Personal Investigation

 A2 Photography Personal Investigation Images

 A2 Photography Personal Investigation Images

 A2 Photography Personal Investigation Images

I really enjoyed studying for this A Level, and although I was a ‘mature student’ (at 23!) and doing two years simultaneously I don’t think I would have done it any different. I was studying for that A Level because I genuinely wanted to learn more about photography and not because I had to make up enough A Levels for the year. I stuck with it, I worked hard and embraced all the mini assignments I was faced with. It was great to be taught so many more techniques then told to go and be experimental with each assignment. Flicking developer across my prints and shooting an assignment in a pitch black forest is something I wouldn’t have had the chance to had I not gone back to college. On that nostalgic note I’ll leave you with an image I recreated from my A2 exam on Shade…

A2 Photography Exam

I hope you like my photography, if you have any feedback I’d love to hear it.

2 thoughts on “Photography A Level

  1. Excellent work and it’s wonderful when you get to learn about subjects you enjoy and like to be challenged with. Those photos are a joy to look at, thanks for sharing.

Leave a Reply

