Ohh deer, I’ve started sewing…

Sewing

As I mentioned in a previous post my wonderful parents bought me a sewing machine for Christmas.  Getting into sewing is something that I have been wanting to do for some time, but I was a little fearful, especially as my textile classes from ten years ago were far from successful! However, I have decided that 2013 is the year I brace life by the proverbial horns and tackle everything head on.  So with this in mind I sat down and hunted for blogs that would teach me the basics.   Tilly and the Buttons is an amazing blog and the “Learn To Sew” posts were clear and easy to understand.  I have been perfecting my way through each lesson and today, finally, I plucked up the courage to make my first item of clothing; the one hour skirt.

I have been feeling rather under the weather recently, but it turns out waking up at stupid o’clock on your day off is actually a good thing.  I planned everything in my head, and once the chap was up suggested that we head to the fabric store as today was THE day!  After alot of umming and ahhing, I finally decided on a fabric …

Deer print fabricOHH DEERI followed this video from Brett Bara, and it really was rather simple…


 

And the finished skirt looks like ….

Finished skirt

I did encounter a few hiccups, but nothing a bit of unpicking the stitches and resewing couldn’t fix.  So there we have it, my first and relatively pain free attempt at making a skirt!

Thank you, Tilly and the Buttons and Brett Bara for showing me how simple it is to get sewing!

4 thoughts on “Ohh deer, I’ve started sewing…

    1. Thank you! I just fell in love with the fabric straight away!! I’m not usually much of a planner either but it really did pay off! Any suggestions on what to make next?

Leave a Reply

Ohh deer, I’ve started sewing…

Sewing

As I mentioned in a previous post my wonderful parents bought me a sewing machine for Christmas.  Getting into sewing is something that I have been wanting to do for some time, but I was a little fearful, especially as my textile classes from ten years ago were far from successful! However, I have decided that 2013 is the year I brace life by the proverbial horns and tackle everything head on.  So with this in mind I sat down and hunted for blogs that would teach me the basics.   Tilly and the Buttons is an amazing blog and the “Learn To Sew” posts were clear and easy to understand.  I have been perfecting my way through each lesson and today, finally, I plucked up the courage to make my first item of clothing; the one hour skirt.

I have been feeling rather under the weather recently, but it turns out waking up at stupid o’clock on your day off is actually a good thing.  I planned everything in my head, and once the chap was up suggested that we head to the fabric store as today was THE day!  After alot of umming and ahhing, I finally decided on a fabric …

Deer print fabricOHH DEERI followed this video from Brett Bara, and it really was rather simple…


 

And the finished skirt looks like ….

Finished skirt

I did encounter a few hiccups, but nothing a bit of unpicking the stitches and resewing couldn’t fix.  So there we have it, my first and relatively pain free attempt at making a skirt!

Thank you, Tilly and the Buttons and Brett Bara for showing me how simple it is to get sewing!

4 thoughts on “Ohh deer, I’ve started sewing…

    1. Thank you! I just fell in love with the fabric straight away!! I’m not usually much of a planner either but it really did pay off! Any suggestions on what to make next?

Leave a Reply

